Wednesday, 16 May 2012

Webinar on reading research this evening (16th May)

Apologies for the very late notice of this Down Syndrome Education International (UK) webinar to be held this evening (Eastern Australian time).  You can sometimes register up to an hour or so before the webinar starts. The webinar was also offered yesterday in the UK.  The slides from the presentation are available here.


From Frank Buckley, CEO of Down Syndrome Education International:


Join us online this week to learn more about the reading and language intervention study that has recently been published. DSE researchers Dr Kelly Burgoyne and Professor Sue Buckley will be presenting and responding to questions.


Together with colleagues at the Centre for Reading and Language at the University of York, we have recently completed the first large controlled trial of an intervention designed for children with Down syndrome. The first scientific paper from the study is now available. This three year study involved nearly 60 children in schools in York and Portsmouth in the United Kingdom. It was funded by the UK Big Lottery Fund.

Join us online to learn more about the trial and the intervention itself. At these free events, DSE researchers will explain the trail and the design of the intervention, and present their findings. There will also be opportunities to ask us questions.
  • 16 May 2012 – 09:30 British Summer Time (08:30 GMT, 10:30 Paris, 12:30 Moscow, 14:00 New Delhi, 18:30 Sydney, 20:30 Auckland) – Register now…

No comments: